HomeLatest NewsCongress chief Mallikarjun Kharge unfurls party flag on 139th Foundation Day -...

Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge unfurls party flag on 139th Foundation Day – Times of India

New Delhi [India], December 28 (ANI): Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge unfurled the party flag at All India Congress Committee (AICC) Headquarters in Delhi on the party’s 139th Foundation Day celebration event.
Kharge met with Congress MP Rahul Gandhi, party General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi, MP Rajiv Shukla, party General Secretary KC Venugopal and other leaders at the AICC Headquarters in Delhi on Thursday.
Congress leader and former Member of the Bihar Vidhan Sabha, Shakeel Ahmad said that the objective of the party since its formation has been constant and today and it wants to unite the society and do away with hatred.
“On December 28, 1885, when the Congress was formed, the motive behind its foundation is the same as it is today. The Congress was formed when the British were spreading hatred in society and were trying to turn people against each other. The Congress had the objective to unite the society and free it from the clutches of British rule,” Ahmad said speaking to about the formation of Congress.
“Even today Congress is trying to oppose hatred that is being spread across society. We are ready to bring an end to hatred in society and spread ‘mohabbat’ (love). Only when the country unites will it prosper. No country can prosper amid instability,” he added.
Speaking about the ‘Hai Taiyar Hum” rally that will kick off from Nagpur on Thursday, Congress leader and former Union Minister Ambika Soni said that the party wants to strengthen its politcal base in Maharashtra in the rally.
“In Maharashtra we have a huge political base. We wish to strengthen that. Rahul Gandhi’s footmarch will also be from Manipur to Maharashtra,” she said.
The Indian National Congress was founded on December 28, 1885, in Bombay (Mumbai) in the presence of 72 delegates at Das Tejpal Sanskrit College. Its founder General Secretary was AO Hume and Vyomesh Chandra Banerjee was made president.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments